Not A Teenager Anymore

I have not been a teenager for over a year now, but last week it was a reality that hit me quite hard for the very first time. For everyone who knows me well, they know that I am a goofball, and super competitive. Therefore when I was coaching soccer practice and was short a team me and the other coach decided to join in. It did not take long at all until I was doing diving headers, and fighting tooth and nail for the ball.

When I woke up Thursday morning I was feeling less than fantastic and for the first time in my life I was having severe back pain. It did not take me long to figure out that I must have injured myself trying to keep up and play soccer with a bunch of teenagers.

Although plenty of laughs were had competing and I got to enjoy one of my favourite drills from when I was growing up, I only came in third place and killed myself to do so. I guess now that I am in my twenties I cannot expect to throw myself at the ground and bounce right back.

After this experience I really got to thinking all of the things we take for granted in our teenage years… not having a job / responsibility, school being a breeze, writing your best friend notes during class, driving around town with friends just because you have your license and can drive, going to the movies every weekend or hanging out at the mall just because there was nothing better to do, spending summer running through the neighborhood and riding bikes, sneaking around, bon fires with friends, being able to play soccer for hours without breaking a sweat, having no major expenses and eighteen (one of my favourite years.)

There are so many things about being a teenager that are awesome, however if I had the chance I would never go back and do it again (I just wish this back pain would go away.) Being a teenager once was more than enough, and as I grow up although there are more burdens are responsibilities, there is also a whole lot to look forward to, there is a whole future for me. Although I have not quite figured out what that is going to be, I know I am only getting started and there are big things to come.

– M

Leave a comment